System of Rank

In GTF TaeKwon-Do, the promotional scale is divided into 24 ranks.  There are 15 grades (Gup) and 9 degrees (Dans).  The coloured belt scale begins with the 15th grade, the lowest, and ends at the first grade.  The black belt scale starts with the first degree and ends with the ninth degree.

In the degree scale, the number 9 was chosen because it was the highest single digit number.  It is also the number 3 multiplies by 3.  In the Orient, the number 3 carries high esteem.  In China the number 3 is writtten as three horizontal lines, one above the other.  The upper line symbolizes heaven, the middle line symbolizes mortals, and the bottom line symbolizes the earth.  Also, in regards to the number 3, the degrees are divided into three distinct groups.  The first through third degree are novice stages of the black belt, the fourth through sixth represent puberty while the seventh through ninth degree represent mastering of the art.

Types of Belts and the Meaning of Belt Colours

WHITE: Signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of TaeKwon-Do

YELLOW: Signifies the earth or the seed from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the TaeKwon0Do foundation is being laid.

GREEN: Signifies the heaves towards which the plant matures into a towiring tree as training in TaeKwon-Do progresses.

RED: Signifies danger, cautioning the student to excercise control and warning the opponent to stay away

BLACK: Is the opposite of white, therefore, signifies the maturity and proficiency in TaeKwon-Do.  It also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.

Black belt First to ninth degree
Red belt double black stripe Grade 1
Red belt single black stripe Grade 2
Red belt Grade 3
Blue belt double red stripe Grade 4
Blue belt single red stripe Grade 5

Blue belt

Grade 6
Green belt double blue stripe Grade 7
Green belt single blue stripe Grade 8
Green belt Grade 9
Yellow belt double green stripe Grade 10
Yellow belt single green stripe Grade 11
Yellow belt Grade 12
White belt double yellow stripe Grade 13
White belt single yellow stripe Grade 14
White belt Grade 15


Significance of First Degree

First Degree - Expert or Novice?

One of the greatest misconceptions within the martial arts is the notion that all black belt holders are experts.  It is understandable that those unfamiliar with the martial arts might make this assumption.  However, students should certainly recognize that this is not always the case.  Too often, novice black belt holders advertise themselves as experts and eventually even convince themselves.

The first degree black belt holder has usually learned enough techniques to defend against a single opponent.  S/he can be compared to a fledgling who has acquired enough feathers to leave the nest and fend for themself.  The first degree is a starting point; the student has merely built a foundation.  The job of building the house lies ahead.

The novice black belt holder will now really begin to learn.  Now that s/he has mastered the alphabet, s/he can begin to read.  Years of hard work and study await befoe s/he can even begin to consider them self an instructor and expert.

A perceptive student will, at this stage, suddenly realize how very little he knows.  The black belt holder also enters a new era of responsibility.  Though a freshman, s/he has entered a strong honorable fraternity of the black belt holders of the entire world and the student's actions inside and outside the training ahll will be carefully scrutinized.  The student's conduct will reflect on all black belt holders and s/he must constantly strive to set an example for all grade holders.

Some will certainly advance into the expert stages.  However, too many will still belive the misconception and will remain a novice, mentally and technically.







2023  Dragan Caoin Taekwondo